Personal · Style · Uncategorized

Style Icons – Pattie Boyd

Pattie Boyd was a model in the 1960’s and 1970’s, she is probably best known for her marriages to George Harrison and Eric Clapton. Pattie was a muse to many rockstars and inspired some of the most amazing love songs of all time including The Beatles – Something and Layla by Derek and The Dominos.

To me, Pattie is a style icon and one of the first people I ever looked upon as an “idol”. I first discovered her while I was watching A Hard Day’s Night. Pattie had perfectly flipped blonde hair and the cutest smile (complete with a gap inbetween her two front teeth) This automatically drew me to her, as I have one too but have always hated it. She helped me learn to love it.

When I was 15, I had my hair cut like her and started trying and emulate her amazing style. Pattie’s style changed so much throughout the 60’s and I was inspired by all of it.

patti-boyd-in-a-bare-shouldered-evening-dress-and-an-elaborate-bead-necklace-leans-wistfully-against-a-full-length-mirror-1964

In the early 60’s, Pattie wore lots of dolly dresses and often wore her shoulder length hair with a flip at the end. She teased the hair at the crown of her head to create a “hump” which was worn by lots of girls at that time. I have attempted to recreate this look more times than I can remember, but it never turns out this perfect!

Patti-Boyd.jpg

Her makeup wasn’t as heavy as some of the other models in the early 60’s. She often used a light foundation all over her face and over her lips. Pattie’s eyeliner was rounded off and often sloped downward, instead of it flicking out. It created a more rounded eye and it added to the innocent image she portrayed.  When I first got into make up, I always kept Pattie at the back of my mind when I was shopping.

“Would Pattie wear this?”

“How would she apply it?”

I remember getting the bus into Liverpool and spending about £5 on a little Collection 2000 face powder and a black liquid eyeliner. I spent hours trying to master Pattie’s whole routine. I even tried to emulate her beautiful shiny hair by straightening it to death (this was the most difficult, as she had the most gorgeous, straight hair and mine was naturally very curly.) I had to have my hair all chopped off at one point, as it was so dry from trying to keep it straight!

 

As the 60’s were coming to an end, Patties style evolved and she started wearing more mature outfits, make up and hair styles. Her light blonde, shoulder length hair was now more of a darkened, dirty blonde. And who could forget that amazing red lip she wore when she and George made THAT appearance at court? I was always inspired by her look during this time the most. She appeared a lot more “grown up” compared to the looks she wore throughout the earlier part of the decade.

Pattie_and_George_in_court

Last August, after waiting for over 12 years, I finally got to meet Pattie in Liverpool. It was an absolute dream come true. I couldn’t believe I was getting to meet my idol after all of this time waiting. I was so nervous! I needn’t have worried though, she was absolutely lovely. She signed my copy of her book and before I left I told her how much she had inspired me over the past 12 years. Even now, she is still so stylish and beautiful. If I have even one ounce of her beauty and class when I am her age. I’ll be happy.

IMG_1430

To finish, here are some of my favourite outfits and make up looks that Pattie has worn over the years:

Thank you for reading! x

Leave a comment