Personal

Going from blonde to red…

I’ve always loved red hair. The Little Mermaid came out on the day I was born, so half of the gifts I recieved had Ariel on them. When I was 4, I was given a long red wig from The Disney shop and I never took it off.


This mug was given to me when I was born so it’s almost 27 years old!

Last week, I saw a photo of Christina Aguilera and she had coloured her hair the most beautiful shade of red. I really wanted to dye mine too! I’d been red before but had quickly gone back to blonde after I realised how high maintenance it was! 


“This time it’ll be different.”

Hahah let’s keep our fingers crossed! 

Off I went to superdrug and bought myself two bottles of their own hair dye (I’d heard wonderful things) this colour stood out to me right away! 


And for £4.49 each you can’t really go wrong! I chose two boxes of the Mango Copper Burst: 7:74. I’d also used the Colour Effects mini shampoo before and really liked it, so I picked one up in the colour Warm Copper Gold for£1.49.

I applied the dye and left it on slightly longer than the box said (my hair was bleached so the colour would have been slightly less saturated)


The dye itself was bright orange! So I was a bit terrified of washing it off. After it was rinsed off and I blow dried it – I was really happy with the colour. Lovely and bright!

So I went from this:


To this:

I’m currently waiting on a semi permanent ginger dye, ordered from a website. Hopefully it’ll keep my colour vibrant! I’ll keep you up to date 🙂

Update:

My semi permanent dye arrived this morning and I couldn’t wait to try it out. It is called “Adore” and I went with the shade French Cognac. It says on the bottle to leave it on for 15 minutes but I had been reading some reviews online were people had recommended at least at hour! I went with 45 minutes just to be safe and this is the result: 


It has made my hair a lot brighter and more ginger! Which I love. I’ll definitely be buying more of it.
To finish, I’m  going to leave you with a few photos of my favourite red heads. They all inspired me to change my hair colour ❤️

Ann Margret
Rita Hayworth
Amy Adams
and the best redhead ever – Ariel

Thanks for reading! x

Leave a comment